Filling Up

They’re filling up
The little holes
Between my skin
And flesh and bones
The ones you left
When you left me
To shiver alone
In the foamy sea

They’re filling up
The empty spaces
In my teeth and eyes
And cold embraces
The ones you carved
To chase her skirt
Leaving me in lies
Lying in the dirt

They’re filling up
The broken slots
In my lips and hair
And sacred spots
The ones you tore
With angry words
While I stood there
To watch the birds

I’m filling up
With my own light
Crevices and cracks
You left behind
I’m standing still
And still I rise
Out of the black
Back to the skies

7 thoughts on “Filling Up

Leave a Reply

